unnamedMañana 6 de Diciembre, a las 12 horas (horario argentino), Steve Sawyer, Secretario General de GWEC, proporcionará una actualización sobre el mercado eólico global y Leopoldo Rodríguez, Presidente de AMDEE (Asociación Mexicana de Energía Eólica), explicará el contexto, las oportunidades y los desafíos que enfrentan las empresas que desean establecer su negocio eólico en México.
La invitación:
Tuesday, 6 December, 4pm CET (12 horas-horario argentino)

16:00 Brussels | 10:00 Washington D.C. | 09:00 Mexico City | 23:00 Beijing | 20:30 Delhi

  

Register here

Doing Business in Mexico – in partnership with RenewableEnergyWorld.com
In 2016, the totally new competitive Mexican wholesale electricity market was successfully launched, including the first two long term auctions for energy, clean energy certificates and capacity, where record low energy prices were achieved and wind energy won a large portion of the assigned contracts. Even though wind energy has demonstrated high competitiveness, the technologically diversified environment has imposed significant challenges that this industry will without a doubt overcome, but it will require sound coordination from all the actors.

By the end of 2016, Mexico’s installed wind capacity will reach close to 4 GW from operating wind farms in different regions.  Projects which are already contracted will increase installed capacity to around 6 GW by 2018, and additional projects in the pipeline will increase that to above 12 GW by 2020, in line with the national goal of 35% of the effective power generation sourced from clean technologies by 2024.

During this webcast, Steve Sawyer, Secretary General of GWEC, will provide an update on the global wind market.  Leopoldo Rodriguez, President of AMDEE (Mexican Wind Energy Association) will explain the context, opportunities and challenges faced by companies wishing to set up their wind business in Mexico.

Attendees will hear about:

  • The growth trends over the past few years
  • Projections for wind in the coming years
  • The latest policy changes including updates on the auction system
  • Financing landscape for wind
  • Challenges facing the industry
________________________________________________________________________________

Speakers


Leopoldo Alberto Rodríguez Olivé, President of the AMDEE Mexican Wind Energy Association, has been Renewable Energy Manager at Industrias Peñoles, a large mining corporation in Mexico, since 2005 where he is responsible for the development of renewable energy projects for self-generation. Previously, he served as Senior Associate for Arthur D. Little / Charles River Associates – Mexico. Currently, he is President of the Mexican Wind Energy Association (AMDEE). Leopoldo holds a Master in Business Administration from the Autonomous Technological Institute of Mexico (ITAM) and Mechanical and Electrical Engineering (Honors) from the University La Salle of Mexico City.

 

Steve Sawyer, Secretary-General of GWEC, has worked in the energy and environment field since 1978, with a particular focus on climate change and renewable energy since 1988. He spent many years working for Greenpeace International, representing the organization at intergovernmental and industry fora primarily on energy and climate issues. At GWEC he is focused on working with intergovernmental organisations such as the UNFCCC, IPCC, IRENA, IEA, IFC and ADB to ensure that wind power takes its rightful place in the energy options for the future; and with opening up new markets for the industry worldwide.

Suscribite a nuestro newsletter

¿Queres estar siempre informado? ingresa tus datos